Skip to content

Risk and safety

Buying YouTube watch hours: what actually happens

Last updated by The PanelCompare editorial team, 7 min read

What does YouTube actually require for monetisation?

The YouTube Partner Program has two entry paths: 1,000 subscribers with 4,000 qualified watch hours in the last 12 months, or 1,000 subscribers with 10 million qualified Shorts views in the last 90 days (YouTube Help, checked 2026-09-11). The adjective in front of the number is doing all the work. The threshold is not "hours on the dashboard", it is hours that qualify, and qualification is assessed against YouTube’s monetisation policies at review.

That structural detail is why watch-hour purchases fail in a way that follower purchases do not. A follower purchase either shows on the counter or does not. A watch-hour purchase has to survive a review that is specifically looking at whether the hours came from real viewing behaviour, and the review happens after you have paid.

Why is the price per 1,000 not what it looks like?

Because most panels quote watch hours per 1,000 order quantity, and the quantity maps to a number of real hours set by the video length the row requires. One panel makes the mapping explicit across its own ladder: $23.50 for a 60-minute video (1,000 hours), $30.00 for 120 minutes (2,000 hours), $50.00 for 240 minutes (4,000 hours) and $65.55 for 480 minutes (8,000 hours). Normalised, that identical product runs from $23.50 down to $8.19 per 1,000 real hours purely by requiring a longer video (PanelCompare domain research §2.2, 2026-09-06).

A comparison that does not normalise is wrong by up to eightfold, and wrong in the direction that makes the worst deal look best. This is the single most consequential unit trap in the catalogue, which is why PanelCompare flags watch hours as a unit that cannot be compared per 1,000 and refuses to rank the raw rate.

Check the video-length requirement before the price

A watch-hours row that demands a 60-minute video is useless to a channel that publishes ten-minute videos, at any price. The requirement is in the row name, usually in brackets, and it decides whether the row is buyable at all before it decides what it costs.

What does 4,000 watch hours cost on real panels?

The table below is every watch-time row the two panels read through their own API returned on 2026-09-07, at the rate each quotes per 1,000 units, with the requirement and the refill exactly as the row states them. What 1,000 units buys in real hours is the part the rate leaves out: one row states it outright, and the rest set a minimum video length instead, which is how a panel scales hours per unit. So a cost for the full 4,000-hour threshold is given only where the row states its own mapping.

Live YouTube watch-time rows, at the rate each panel quotes per 1,000 units
What the row requiresRate per 1,000 unitsReal hours per 1,000 unitsCost of 4,000 hoursRefill
No length stated; drip-feed, 200–400 h/day$10.69Not stated30 days
60+ minute video$16.25Not stated30 days
15+ minute video, 200–400 h/day$17.10Not stated30 days
2–3 minute video, worldwide$20.81Not statedNone stated
30+ minute video, 200–400 h/day$21.38Not stated30 days
120+ minute video$25.00Not stated30 days
60+ minute video, max 2,000$28.13Not statedNo
60+ minute video, 200/day$28.75Not stated60 days
Any length video, 2,000 h/day$31.25Not stated365 days
1 view = 1 hour$32.501,000$130.0030 days

Source: PanelCompare catalogue, as read from the JustAnotherPanel and PanelFollows APIs on 2026-09-07: every watch-time row they returned, with the requirement and refill in each panel’s own words. One further row the index had filed under watch hours, YouTube views with 10+ minutes of watch time each, is left out: it sells views, not hours.

Two things stand out. The rates run from $10.69 to $32.50, about threefold, but that spread is not a price comparison: a row demanding a 120-minute video is very likely buying more hours per unit than one that accepts any length, and only one row says how many. That row, one view for one hour, puts the full threshold at $130. And watch time is genuinely expensive to produce whatever the mapping, because it needs sustained playback from a plausible session rather than a single logged event.

What does YouTube’s own policy say about buying watch time?

The fake engagement policy prohibits content that "artificially increases the number of views, likes, comments, or other metrics either by using automatic systems or serving up videos to unsuspecting viewers", and it separately prohibits content that "Links to or promotes third-party services that artificially inflate metrics like views, likes, and subscribers" (YouTube Help, checked 2026-09-11; the page carries no revision date).

The stated enforcement is a warning for a first violation, then strikes, with the channel liable to termination after three strikes in 90 days. That is a materially different exposure from a follower purge on Instagram or TikTok, where the platforms describe removing the fake signals rather than acting against the account.

Why do purchased watch hours so often fail review?

  • The threshold counts qualified hours. Hours that do not survive assessment do not count toward it, and the assessment happens after purchase.
  • The behaviour signature is unusual. A channel that accumulates thousands of hours on a small number of long videos, from sessions with no other activity, is describing a pattern rather than an audience.
  • The hours are removable. Watch time is a stored metric; the same policy that removes fake views removes the watch time attached to them.
  • Application review is human as well as automated, and the application is the point at which the channel receives the most scrutiny it will ever get.
  • A row advertised as monetizable or AdSense-safe is making a claim about what a third party will accept, which the seller cannot know and does not underwrite.

None of that means every purchase is detected. It means the purchase buys a number that has to survive the one review it was bought to pass, and the seller has no obligation to you if it does not. A refill window replaces removed hours; it does not restore a rejected application.

What actually moves watch hours if buying them does not?

Watch hours are a product of length multiplied by retention multiplied by views, and only one of those three is a number a panel sells. Longer formats accumulate hours faster per view, live streams bank hours in large blocks, and playlists and end screens increase the number of videos a single session touches. None of that is a growth secret; it is just the arithmetic of the metric being time rather than count.

If a panel is going to be used at all, the honest use is measurement rather than qualification: cheap views on a post to test whether a thumbnail or an opening changes watch-through. YouTube views were $2.50 per 1,000 at the index median on 2026-09-10, so a creative test costs less than the coffee you drink while reading the result — and it does not put a monetisation application in front of a reviewer.

Quick answers

How much does it cost to buy 4,000 watch hours?

Where a panel states how many real hours its units buy, 4,000 hours works out at roughly $33 to $94 (PanelCompare domain research, 2026-09-06). Most live rows state a minimum video length instead of a mapping, so their per-1,000 rate cannot be turned into a cost of 4,000 hours without guessing; the one live row that does state it, one view for one hour, comes to $130.

Do bought YouTube views count for monetisation?

The Partner Program counts qualified watch hours and qualified Shorts views. Purchased inventory is assessed at review, and YouTube’s fake engagement policy prohibits artificially increasing metrics, so the safe assumption is that it does not count.

Can buying watch hours get a channel terminated?

YouTube’s published enforcement is a warning, then strikes, with termination possible after three strikes within 90 days. That is a heavier consequence than the metric removal Meta and TikTok describe for follower purchases.

Why do watch hour prices vary so much between panels?

Mostly because of the video length each row requires. The same underlying product runs from $23.50 to $8.19 per 1,000 real hours purely by requiring a longer video, so an un-normalised comparison can be wrong by eightfold.

What is a monetizable or AdSense-safe view?

A marketing label, not a verifiable property. It asserts what a third party will accept, which the seller cannot know. This category is the most fraud-dense in the catalogue and carries no remedy when the assertion turns out to be false.

Every figure here is attributed and dated

Prices in this market move weekly, so a number without a capture date is decorative. Where this guide quotes a figure it names the source and when it was checked. If one of them is wrong, the correction process on the about page has a two-working-day reply target, and corrections are published with a dated note rather than quietly patched.